What Is The MCAT?

What is the MCAT?The Medical College Admissions Test (MCAT) is a test administered by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The test is designed to test your knowledge in four specific categories; physical sciences such as physics and chemistry (organic and inorganic), biological sciences, verbal reasoning, and a writing sample.

The MCAT is designed to test students on their knowledge and reasoning skills. While many believe taking higher-level science courses would enhance their MCAT scores, the truth is that the test does not cover anything more advanced than entry-level classes; non-science majors tend to do as well on the MCAT as their science major counterparts. This is due to the exam testing your reasoning skills and problem-solving capacity: critical attributes to be a successful physician.

The MCAT is computer based and lasts just over five hours. The test contains:

  • Two 70-minute sections:  testing physical and biological sciences.
  • One 60-minute section:  testing verbal reasoning
  • One 60-minute section: two 30-minute essays.

Fun Fact: In 2015, the MCAT will be changed to include a social and behavioral science section. 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.